SEED Elects Officers, Welcomes New Board Members,

SEED Elects Officers, Welcomes New Board Members

The Seacoast Educational Endowment of Dover (SEED)  a non-profit organization that promotes academic excellence by providing innovation grants to Dover educators, recently appointed a new slate of directors and officers. Board member planning and fundraising consultant Beverly Shadley was elected to serve as the organization’s Vice President and Angela Carter of Calypso Communications was elected to Secretary. The two will join the returning team of officers which consists of President Stuart Kahl of Measured Progress and Treasurer Michelle Kurtz of Hodgdon, Wilson, and Griffin CPAs.

Newly elected board members include longtime Dover residents Sue Vitko and Dorothea Hooper. Both will serve three year terms and will work with current members which include Bob Carrier, Karen Duffy, Carolyn Mebert, Allison Neal,  and Donna McAdam. These appointments come as the non profit prepares for its next round of teacher innovation grant funding. SEED raises private philanthropic dollars to award grant funds, on a competitive basis, to educators who submit formal applications.  SEED’s overarching goals are to create a legacy for educational excellence in Dover Public Schools and to advocate the value of education in the community. Applications for the fall grant period will be accepted until December 1, 2014. More information and the application can be found on the SEED website at